➻ Jürgen Kocka [1941]

por Teoría de la historia

juergen-kockaJürgen Kocka was born in 1941 and received his M. A. in Political Science from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (1965), his doctoral degree from the Free University of Berlin (1968) and his Habilitation in Modern History from the University of Münster (1973). From 1973 to 2009 he taught history at the University of Bielefeld and the Free University of Berlin. Between 1983 and 1988 he was Director at the Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Forschung, Bielefeld (Centre for Interdisciplinary Research), He was then appointed Permanent Fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin (Institute for Advanced Study (1991-2000); followed by a position as President of the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (Social Science Research Centre Berlin, from 2001-2007). In the 1990s he co-founded the Zentrum für Vergleichende Geschichte Europas (Centre for Comparative History of Europe) and later served as co-Director of this institution (which was jointly supported by the Free University and Humboldt University Berlin). From 2000 to 2005 he served as President of the International Committee of Historical Sciences (ICSH) and as vice president of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences from 2008 to 2010. Jürgen Kocka is presently Senior Advisor of the International Research Centre “Work and Human Life Course in Global History” at the Humboldt University Berlin and Senior Fellow of the Zentrum für Zeithistorische Forschung Potsdam (Centre for Contemporary History). He teaches regularly at UCLA As a Visiting Professor. He has received Honorary Degrees from the Erasmus University Rotterdam, the University of Uppsala, the Russian Academy of Sciences Moscow, the European University Institute Florence and the Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow. He was also awarded the Leibniz Preis of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft and the Historians’ Prize of the City of Bochum. Professor Kocka is a member of the Academia Europaea, the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, the Torino Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Korea.

[Fuente: International Social History Association Newsletter, vol. I, nº 2, noviembre de 2011]